Sketch of the Sacrifice of Isaac

Here’s an image of the Sacrifice of Isaac, that I’ll possibly turn into something more imposing.  It’s very derivative – it started just as a sketch of the same scene as depicted on the Klosterneuburg Altar, this magnificent piece of church art from the twelfth century that I learned about in my Art History class (taught by the wonderful Karl Whittington).  I started sketching it, and then I thought about elongated reliefs on Romanesque lintels, and the hand of God that often appears in apse mosaics.  So I incorporated these things into a kind of horrible jumble of medieval art.  Still, I ended up being happy with the sketch, in particular the left eye of the goat face on the side of the altar.

sacrifice of isaac

Leave a Reply

